Home 2007 Workshop

2007 Mesilla Chemistry Workshop

February 4-7, 2007

"Electron Transfer and Molecular Devices"

Organizers:

Gang-yu Liu, Department of Chemistry, University of California, Davis gyliu@ucdavis.edu

George Flynn, Department of Chemistry, Columbia University flynn@chem.columbia.edu

Support:

New Mexico State University

Texas Tech University

The Robert Welch Foundation

Participants:  
 

Theory of Electron Transfer in Molecular Electronics

 

Mark Hybertsen

George Schatz

Annabella Solonni

Haobin Wang

msh2102@columbia.edu

schatz@chem.northwestern.edu

aselloni@princeton.edu

whb@intrepid.nmsu.edu

 

SPM Investigation of Molecular Electonics

 

Eric Borguet

Kerry Hipps

Adam Matzger

Sergei Smirnov

Paul S Weiss

Stan Williams

eborguet@temple.edu

hipps@wsu.ede

matzger@umich.edu

snsm@nwsu.edu

stm@psu.edu

stan.williams@hp.com

 

Fabrication and Measurement of Molecular Electronics

 

Nongjian Tao

Latha Venkataraman

nongjian.tao@asu.edu

latha@phys.columbia.edu

 

Electron Transfer at Interfaces

 

Shaowei Chen

Andy Gewirth

Rudy Marcus 

Tobin Marks

Colin Nuckolls

Xiaoyang Zhu

schen@chemistry.ucsc.edu

agewirth@uiuc.edu

ram@caltech.edu

t-marks@northwestern.edu

cn37@ucolumbia.edu

zhu@chem.umn.edu

 

1D and 2D Devices

  Phillip Kim  pk2015@columbia.edu
     
     
Schedule:
2/3/07 Saturday  6:30pm - Reception and Dinner at La Pasta

2/4/07 Sunday Meeting Room in Comfort Inn and Suites
8:30 Flynn and liu

Welcome and Introduction

8:40 Bill Hase

History of Mesilla Chemistry Workshop, Coordinating Outdoor Activities

Morning Session Chair, George Flynn

"Electron Transfer In and Among Nanoparticles"

9:00-9:40 Rudy Marcus

Blinking and Other Properties of Quantum Dots

9:40-10:20 Tobin Marks

New Semiconductors and Dielectrics for Unconventional Electronics

10:20-10:40 Coffee Break
10:40-11:20 Shaowei Chen

Electronic Communication between Redox Moieties on Nanoparticle Surfaces

11:20-12:00 Andy Gewirth

Potential Dependent Structure of Water at the Electrified Solid-Liquid Interface: Relationship to Electron Transfer

12:00-19:00 Lunch, Outdoor Activities, Dinner
Evening Session Chair, Ken Houk

"Electron Transfer and Tunneling at Junctions: Molecule-Electrode Contacts"

19:00-19:40 Latha Venkataraman

Well-Defined Single Molecule Circuits Using Amine-Gold Linkages

19:40-20:20 Mark Hybertsen

Understanding Single Molecule Electrode Contacts: Why do Amine-Gold Linkages Work?

20:20-21:00 Annabella Solonni

Modeling of Molecular Junctions


2/5/07, Monday Meeting Room in Comfort Inn and Suites

Morning Session Chair, Bill Hase
"Fundamental Electron Transfer Process: The Ubiquitous Nature of Tunneling"
8:30-9:10 Xiaoyang Zhu

Watching Polaron Formation in Interfacial Electron Tranfer

9:10-9:50 Kerry Hipps

Electron Tunneling Spectroscopy, Electrochemistry, and Ultraviolet Photoemission Spectroscopy -- What is the Connection?

9:50-10:10 Coffee Break
10:10-10:50 Haobing Wang

Theoretical Study of Electron Transfer Reactions in the Condensed Phase

10:50-11:30 Anne Andrews

Developing Nanobiosensors for Neurotransmitters: Assembly, Patterning and Application of Optimally Diluted Biospecific Capture Surfaces

11:30-19:00 Lunch, Outdoor Activities, Dinner
Evening Session Chair, Kerry Hipps

"Electron Transfer and Organization in Reduced Dimension Molecular Systems"

19:00-19:40 Phillip Kim

Electrical Transport in Molecules, Nanotubes and Graphene

19:40-20:20 Adam Matzger

Crystallization in Two-Dimensions

20:20-21:00 David Waldeck

Electron Transfer in Supermolecules and Molecular Assemblies


2/6/07, Tuesday Meeting Room in Comfort Inn and Suites

First Morning Session Chair Haobin Wang
"Patterning of Molecular Devices on Surfaces"
8:30-9:10 George Schatz

Modeling Surface Nanopatterning

9:10-9:50 Colin Nuckolls

Reaction Chemistry Meets Lithography

9:50-10:10 Coffee Break
Second Morning Session Chair George Flynn

 "Tunneling, Electron Transfer and Redox at Interfaces"

10:10-10:50 Nongjian Tao

Electron Transport in Redox Molecules

10:50-11:30 Eric Borguet

Probing the Dynamics of Interfacial Electron Transfer at the Single Molecule Level

11:30-19:30

9:00

Lunch, Outdoor Activities, Dinner

Evening Workshop Dinner at Double Eagle


2/7/07, Wednesday Meeting Room in Comfort Inn and Suites

Morning Session Chair, Gang-yu Liu
"Tunneling, Electron Transfer and Redox at Interfaces"
8:30-9:10 Paul S Weiss

Designing, Measuring and Controlling Molecular-and Supramolecular-Scale Properties for Molecular Devices

9:10-9:50 Stan Williams

Electronic Switching via Redox Reactions

9:50-10:10 Coffee Break
10:10-10:50 Sergei Smirnov

Photoinduced Charge Transfer in Dense Monolayers

11:30 Workshop Concludes